Accidents Happen

I was lighting some candles the other night and it made me think about something that happened to me a few years ago here in Colorado. I was living with my father until I could find an affordable place of my own. One Sunday afternoon, I was watching a movie and decided to light a couple of candles. Mind you, I had just gotten out of the shower and had a couple of different hair products in my hair. For those of you who don’t know, hair products are extremely flammable. As I lit one of the candles, a few strands of my hair were hanging just close enough to the flame. The fire spread rapidly from the ends of my hair around the front of my face. I screamed for my dad who was in the living room. He jumped over the coffee table, ran into my room, grabbed my hair and snuffed it with his hands. If that’s not a loving father, I don’t know what is. He hugged me and asked me what I was trying to do. Had he not been there I would have run into my bathroom and turned the shower on. But he was. The moral of this story is, just because we are capable of living on our own doesn’t mean things don’t happen. But these things could happen to anyone. Have you ever heard of a friend holding a cigarette or lighter too close and singeing an eyebrow? Do you know how many fires are started due to a lit candle or cigarette? As the title of this post says, accidents happen. With that, life goes on. All you can do is dust yourself off, or in my case take a second shower to attempt to get rid of the burnt hair smell. I can laugh about it now.

Leave a comment